Murph – September 25, 2018

“Ethical Space”

What is it?

When I first heard this phrase, I wondered what it exactly meant. I am fighting a cold and feeling exhausted, and as a result it might have gone over my head a little. As the discussion went on, I did start to derive my own meaning of it. The way I perceive this concept is, if I were to facilitate a drum circle featuring some traditional African rhythms, a way of bridging the ethical space would be to have an authentic drummer from Africa be my guest drummer to help provide context and authenticity to the audience. Or perhaps instead, I acknowledge the context and authenticity of the culture before starting the session. Or maybe I didn’t get the concept of ethical space. Also, maybe I just shouldn’t think about these sort of things so much. It might serve better to just be respectful, acknowledge the culture and be an engaging and dynamic facilitator like I normally would do in my sessions. Sometimes, I think it is best to put aside any insecurities, biases, stereotypes, and judgements and just have fun. Maybe I missed some of the points from the discussion because I’m not feeling 100%, so if anyone could elaborate on this please do.

“In Search of a Better World”

Dylan recited a quote from this book that spoke of freedom and how powerful it is, and it seemed to be the theme in today’s class. The movie we watched at the beginning of class today entailed history of indigenous people being stripped of their freedom and forced into residential schools as children. It was a very heavy and devastating movie to take in. It displayed some of the horrible occurrences that indigenous people endured in the past, and today they are still fighting for equal rights.

The movie made me feel so many emotions and feelings. I felt sad, empathetic, sick, and disgusted. I am always astonished when discovering horrific things humans have done to one another throughout history, and it always seems to be white people who commit these horrible acts. Why is that? A sick sense of entitlement that has come from years of oppressing other races? Does it have something to do with Commonwealth? I don’t know exactly, but it is awful.

I am also exhausted to hearing terrible things the Roman Catholic Church has been a part of. Sometimes, I can’t believe I grew up attending catholic schools and even though I don’t identify as Catholic, I still feel ashamed that I was a part of it in a way. How can a religion based on high morals and values be known to do such horrible things to humans, and all in the name of “God”. I could rant all night about my opinion on religion, but I won’t.

Instead, I will focus on the positive awareness I learned today in class. Ethical space awareness is important because it encompasses equality and respect. Freedom is a very powerful word and also a privilege, as Gerard mentioned. Not everyone in the world has freedom like we do. I sympathize with those who don’t have the same type of freedom. It’s hard to imagine a life where you can’t walk down the street or drive a car somewhere or even choose a different colour preference without facing some sort of nasty punishment. As Dylan demonstrated in his activity, some people live(d) in a society where you must conform, and if you don’t you are punished in terrible and vicious ways. Again, I am again astonished by how horrible humans can be.

As this course progresses, I am realizing that there is so much to learn and be aware of in myself. I learned a lot today and look forward to expanding my mind and awareness further in the coming weeks/months.  Thanks everyone.

Murph

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Murph – September 25, 2018”

  1. Great reflections, Murph! I think you are voicing what we were all feeling last night. I too, am struggling with some harsh initial reactions to religion. Really, though, religion is not the problem.

    I’m reading the Book of Joy right now, and in it the archbishop Desmond Tutu says “There is nothing wrong with faiths. The problem is the faithful.”

    It could be quite an interesting can of worms to open, but generally I’d agree. The teachings of all religions really are to care for one another. It’s the actions taken by humans in the name of their religion, furthering their own personal biases and agendas, that can be wrong and evil.

    As for ethical space, I believe you are right on track. (At least in my understanding of it). It’s about being able to leave behind any preconceptions, any biases, anything that might hinder moving forward, and bringing two potentially conflicting or contrasting viewpoints together in a neutral space.

    I think.

    It sounds like you already are doing it and embody it in your teaching.

    Sorry to hear that you are sick, hope you feel better soon!
    Niki

    1. Thanks Niki, I appreciate your feedback.

      I don’t want to start a debate here or anything like that, but I just wanted to say that I think religion is the problem because it can create a sense of entitlement, especially if it’s instilled in someone from a young age or is taught from a heavy influence. It creates this bubble of what you should do and what you shouldn’t, what’s “right” or “wrong”, thus forming biases and opinions based on those beliefs.

      It can also make people think they have a “reason” to do harm to others, for example a suicide bomber. Almost like a cult, a “my way or the highway” mentality. It creates differences in people and divides us.

      Maybe that’s why we don’t hear or see people from different religions ever getting together to make music for example. You never see Christians getting together with Muslims or Jewish people dancing with Orthodox. It all creates a sense of inferiority, even subconsciously.

      Personally, I think religion is very archaic and really has no place in today’s society, but that’s just my two cents.

      When religion is put aside, that’s when you really see people come together. We don’t need religion to identify ourselves and we don’t need religion to teach compassion or provide hope, we just need each other.

      I guess it’s easy for a white Canadian to say these things, but hey, maybe I have a point. Look at all the tragedies influenced by religion throughout history. Not to mention the tax evasions many churches are involved in. It all seems silly to me. But what do I know.

      Murph

  2. Thanks for the reflections Murph – I felt the same things, although sadly I’ve become a little numb to it…mentally ‘throwing in the towel’ I suppose. In any case, I’ve found the more I come to terms with these conflicts/horrible actions, the more within my interactions with other people I am a calmer and kinder person. At least, I try to be. For a long time it made me very upset and anxious learning about this, but it’s changed.

    Keep your stick on the ice! It’s always good to learn about these things, however tragic they are. With that awareness hopefully we won’t repeat history. It seems many places are systemically turning a blind eye to their past, including Ontario with it’s recent decision re. education of indigenous history. Here’s to protesting and hoping.

    1. Thanks Keenan, I’m glad to hear that. I hope to get that point as well where I can be calm about these topics. I believe I am on the right track, and involvement in this program will help become more aware.

      Murph

  3. Your empathy, frustrations, and disgust are understood and shared by me. I’m not in state where I can fully engage in an academic setting (and upon re-read, no, I’m not drunk haha just beat from the lit. review), but I just wanted you to know that I really appreciate your post and am thankful that you were in-class on Wednesday for my presentation. I look forward to hearing your presentations when the time comes!

    – D

  4. Just one thing to add that stuck with me from the discussions.
    In regard to creating a neutral space, the space between us were everybody feels able to contribute. “This is what I think, this is how I feel, but I won’t tell YOU how to feel, because when I do that I’ve crossed a line.” who am I to tell you what to think, or feel.
    Luke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *